1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Etruscan Civilization and Time Line


Etruscan Ash Urn (Boston Museum of Fine Arts)

Etruscan Ash Urn (Boston Museum of Fine Arts)

Andrew Kuchling

The Etruscan civilization was a cultural group in the Etruria region of Italy, from the 11th through the first century BC (Iron Age into Roman times). Beginning in the 6th and 5th centuries BC, the Etruscans began an intensive period of building sanctuaries such as Monte Soracte, and by the Classic Phase city states were established in twelve loosely organized cities including Pyrgi, Orvieto, Veii, Talamone, and Tarquinia.

  • Villanovan Phase [900-700 BC]
  • Orientalizing Period [700-600 BC]
  • Archaic Period [600-480 BC]
  • Classic Period [480-300 BC]
  • Roman-Etruscan Period [300-100 BC]


Read more about the archaeology of the Etruscan Civilization, or visit About's Ancient History resource page on the Etruscans.

Goodway, Martha. 1989. Etruscan mirrors: A reinterpretation. Fleming, Stuart J. and Schenck, Helen R. MASCA: History of Technology Volume 6, the Role of Metals, pages 25-30.

Izzet, Vedia E. 2001 Form and meaning in Etruscan ritual space. Cambridge Archaeological Journal 11(2):185-200.

This glossary entry is part of the Dictionary of Archaeology.

Luna, Pyrgi, Orvieto, Veii, Talamone, and Tarquinia

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.